Navratri Celebration

Navratri Celebration, the festival of nine nights and nine goddesses. In fact, if we see the meaning of Navratri in Sanskrit, then it means nine nights. The nine female divinities are being worshipped in these nine days to order the manifestations of Goddess Durga.

Religious significance of Navratri Celebration

According to the Hindu mythology, it is celebrated as the victory of good over evil. It is also said that on this day Goddess Durga killed the buffalo headed demon named Mahisasur. The main reason behind celebrating it for 9 days is that it took 9 days to kill Mahisasur. He got killed on the night of the 10th day known as Vijaya Dashmi. Really, Navratri Celebration is the victory over evil.

9 Forms of Goddess Durga

The nine Goddesses worshipped in Navtratri are: –

Maa Shailputri:-On the very first day she is being worshiped. The deity Sati was the daughter of Daksha and wife of the God Shiva. She was said to be the rebirth of Goddess Parvathi, who was the daughter of Himalaya and the consort of lord Shiva.

Maa Brahamcharini : –On the 2nd day Brahamcharini is being worshipped. Actually the meaning of Brahamcharini is constant meditation. She is considered the peaceful form of Goddess also known as Uma. In India all the womenperform fasts based upon thestrict austerities of Brahamcharini.

Maa Chandraghanta: –On the 3rd day she is being worshiped. The name was given to her because she wore the crescent moon on her head. In this look the goddess looks full of anger, which shows that if the deity is provoked, then she can also become malevolent.

Maa Kushmanda : –The goddess consist the energy of the whole universe and has eight hands. That’s why she is also known as Ashtbhuja. Her smiling face denotes the end the eternal darkness and hence the beginning of new light.

Maa Skandamata: –Skandamata is the mother of Skanda (Kartik). He is the general of lord’s army and is known to be the most handsome god. In the form of Skandamata, the goddess is holding the child Kartik on her laps. She is very benevolent in this form.

Maa Kstyayani: –She is worshiped on 6th day. She is called Kstyayini because she is the daughter of sage Katya. Though she is daughter form of Durga and epitome of love, she can get angry to defend the righteous and good.

Maa Kalratri:-She is the form of Shakti who destroyed the ignorance and darkness. In this form Goddess Durga is in the most violent role. She wants to drink the blood of the demon to eliminate all the dirty evil.

Maa Mahagauri: –The true depiction of purity is Goddess Mahagauri. She is being worshipped on the 8th day. It is said that once when Lord Shiva with water from river Ganga cleaned the soil and dust from the body of Parvathi when she did penance to seek lord Shiva as her husband.

Maa Sidhhidatri:-She is worshiped on 9th day. She is called the mother of knowledge.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here